Employment certificates, also known as work permits, are mandatory in Ohio for children under 16 at any time, and 16 and 17 during the school term. The minor must purchase the certificate and present it to his employer to verify his ability to work before being hired. Daily and weekly time limits have been established for adolescent workers. For many teens, they can only work a maximum of 18 hours a week and three hours a day when school is in session.
There are exceptions, but exemption restrictions are usually related to a vocational or work-study program. The Ohio State Board of Education is a resource for which specific jobs are exempt. Ohio child labor law considers anyone under the age of 18 who has not graduated from high school to be a minor. Employers must show a list of each minor employee and must ensure that any employee under the age of 14 has obtained a work permit from the Ohio Board of Education.
However, children 16 and older do not need a work permit to work during the summer, as long as the employer obtains signed consent from the employee's parent or guardian. Employers are expected to identify the children they employ and ensure that their employment complies with all federal and state restrictions on child labor. Child labor laws exist at the federal and Ohio levels to prevent the exploitation of children for work purposes and ensure that education takes precedence over work. Ultimately, Ohio's child employment laws aren't too burdensome as long as employers are aware that the laws exist and know their responsibilities.
Employers also cannot withhold wages from minor employees for breakage, violation of rules, or negligence at work. Limitations to child labor vary by age and may include restrictions on the types of work that can be performed, the maximum number of hours that can be worked, and limitations on working late or during the night. Instead of printing pages of mandatory federal and Ohio labor law posters, you can purchase an all-in-one laminated professional employment law poster that ensures compliance with all Ohio and federal publishing requirements. Minors and students may also be subject to special labor regulations regarding minimum wage, meal and rest periods while working, and more.
Under child labor laws in the state of Ohio, certain jobs in specific industries cannot be worked by minors, specifically persons 14 to 17 years of age. Ohio State labor laws limit the total number of hours employees can work both daily and weekly. Once an underage employee reaches the age of majority or leaves a facility, state law requires employers to keep records on file for at least two years. In addition to laws that require labor certificates or age verification for general employment of minors, most states have special regulations governing the employment of minors in agriculture (such as farm work and harvesting) and the entertainment industry (including children's actors, models, and artists).
This site is a free public service that is not affiliated with the Department of Labor or any government organization. While housework, street trades, work for parents, and performing arts work are available for children and tweens, older employees can find employment certificate applications in the school guidance counselor's office. .
Leave a Comment